May 5th 2013

The wonderful exhibit commemorating Karl Behr and Dick Williams at the Newport Tennis Hall of Fame is being dismantled after a year. I will always remember what an honor it was to have been associated with such a grand effort. Thank you Doug Stark and the team up there who put it all together.

I am looking forward to speaking about my book in Philadelphia during the second week in June. Quincy Williams will be there! He and I shared and compared our miseries about the terrible version (Titanic the Tennis Story) written and distributed, with falsehoods published and read as truth about our families. It was one of the saddest moments of my life. It still is despite months of therapy. Discovering that someone could write so inaccuratedly and also claim that I was a source for their accuracy!? Sad, infuriating, devastating. Still unbelievable to me. Imagine doing that to someone?

I am reading the loveliest book: The Optimist’s Daughter by Eudora Welty. “The mystery in how little we know of other people is no greater than the mystery of how much.” This quote from her book resonates today as I think about the effect on the Williams family, on me, and on my wonderful publisher, when we realized that our work and our families had been used for another’s mis-representation.